Categories
Entertainment Fetishscreen

“Fetishscreen” Exercise

fetish

Writing has always functioned as a process that centers me. In a way, I believe my personal blogging exists as a “fetish” because it is something I do that gives me a sense of confidence. Whenever I look over past entries it is clear to me that I usually only turn to writing out personal blogs when I feeling lost or overwhelmed, and I can identify blogging as a “fetish” that guides me through whatever emotional state I am in.

Youve_Got_Mail_628

I feel relatively comfortable referencing the film You’ve Got Mail as a personal “fetish” of mine. My love for this movie is what initially inspired me to choose the typewriter for the invention I discussed in my Career discourse. By the end of the discourse I even referenced a number of aspects of the film that I am able to tie into my chosen career field. Despite the fact that Romantic Comedies are generally dismissed by most, I manage to maintain a deep affection for such movies. Ultimately, I treat You’ve Got Mail as a significant “fetish”/source of confidence and security because nearly all of my memories of this film are associated with memories of my twin sister. We have a shared appreciation for You’ve Got Mail, and as a result, every time I watch the film I am immediately at home (metaphorically speaking).

By Kathryn

KATIE is a twenty-something held together with iced coffee and her wits. She writes personal confessions and pop culture chronicles.

Leave a comment