Categories
Community On the Premises

“On the Premises” Exercise

The recurring theme in my Family discourse concerns the notion of spectacle/performance (the micro scene I narrate is a literal family performance) as well as personal growth.

In my Career discourse I mention what I originally thought was my mom’s antique typewriter (I was recently informed that it was my grandmother’s, in fact) and how the typewriter was a forbidden fruit of sorts. The term forbidden fruit originates with the Bible, and this is not the first time I have associated a literary object with a religious context.

My Entertainment discourse is a continuation of my Family discourse in a way because I break down a family act (watching the Anne of Green Gables films together) as well as an independent act (reading the series). Just as in my Family discourse I am encouraged to step outside of my comfort zone thanks to the environment provided, in my Entertainment discourse I first witness the films with my family and later choose to read the books separately. The parallel isn’t perfect: I was not terrified of reading or uncomfortable with being alone, but I do believe the message I attempted to share in the Family discourse is clearly represented in the Entertainment discourse. It helps that I keep on name dropping my family in this project, I guess!

On that note, I have realized every discourse thus far references my mom in some way.

By Kathryn

KATIE is a twenty-something held together with iced coffee and her wits. She writes personal confessions and pop culture chronicles.

Leave a comment